Homemade Muesli Bars – Wheat Free, Dairy Free and Nut Free

Museli Bars -Free

I am always looking for healthy, easy snacks to make at home for myself and the kids.  So I recently found and tried a lovely recipe for Clean Eating Muesli Bars.  I made them according to the recipe and they were delicious!  Here is the link to the original recipe at Clean Eating With Kids.

The 2nd time I made these lovely little goodies I thought I would alter some of the ingredients and here are the changes and the reasons.

1.  We are cutting out as much dairy as possible in our home (why, you ask?) so I thought I would try using coconut oil.

2.  When I was reaching for the coconut oil I saw my homemade almond flour and thought it was a good opportunity to try that instead of the regular flour I used last time, seeing as I’m looking for ways to use it up.

3.  Rice malt syrup found a place because we have raw honey and if you heat raw honey it loses all its benefits.  I’m liking this rice malt syrup as it’s fructose free apparently.

4.  And finally with this batch I left out the nuts simply because I thought I would like to be able to send them to crèche and pre-school and both are nut free zones.  So here is my modified recipe:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup rice malt syrup
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup almond flour or almond meal

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and press into a flat baking tin to be about a 1-2 cm thick.  Bake in oven at 180C for about 20 mins or until you see it browning slightly.

When I made these the first time and they came out of the oven I sliced them straight away.  It didn’t look like they were going to stick together as a bar.  They seemed crumbly, probably due to the almond flour?  So of course the obvious thing for me to do was put a couple in a bowl with some almond milk and have a little bowl of warm toasted muesli.  It was lovely!  I finished my muesli and went back to investigate the other bars and to my surprise upon cooling they had indeed held together as a bar very well.  So now of course the obvious thing for me to do was put a couple more on a plate and enjoy them with a cup of tea.  By then I was full.

So the valuable lesson here is maybe wait 10 minutes or so before you slice these or you’ll be eating a double serve.  Maybe you will anyway.  They are very more-ish.

You can use any or all of the substitutions depending on your preferences… the nuts in the original batch are very nice if you don’t have to worry about allergies or allergy-free areas.  Any nuts would be nice.  Try a few sultanas or even choc chips but beware of fructose content – keep them to a minimum.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

