Check Out These Choc Chip Chickpea Cookies! (Grain free)

cookies

I found this cookie recipe as I was browsing my favourite pages on facebook and just had to try them.  Chickpeas (or garbanzo beans) are high in protein, fibre, low GI, and contain calcium, magnesium, iron, zinc and B vitamins.  I was determined to find a healthy homemade treat that my little D-man (3) would enjoy and I was willing to chuck a few choc chips in there to increase my chances of success!  I was a little worried about buying the choc chips as sugar has been creeping back into my diet more and more and I find I am craving it, which spells bad news for me – I have not a lot of willpower when chocolate is around!  Well, I bought some choc chips anyway and made these scrumptious otherwise very healthy little cookies.  As usual Miss Moo (2) loved them, as did I and hubby enjoyed them too.  D-man did not.  He was excited to try them but then nibbled his little morsel from the cookie, scrunched up his nose and spat it in the bin.  The frustration I felt is difficult to express right now, but it was significant.  Then to make matters worse I ate too many of the cookies and raided the open packet of choc chips.  Then I felt sick and got a headache from too much sugar.  Sigh, when will I learn?…

D-man is consulting his taste buds.  And it's a negitive :-(

D-man is consulting his taste buds… and it’s a negative 😦

Miss Moo's taste buds say yep!

Miss Moo’s taste buds say yep!

Anyhoo, despite this I will file these in the ‘make again’ department and I thought I’d share the recipe as these cookies are quite nutritious, with a lack of bad stuff like white flour and white sugar in the dough and all the other crap which comes with most bought cookies.  Another thing to try are raw cacao nibs or carob nibs or you could just make the cookies without the choc chips through the dough and just pop one or two on top… that’s barely any and if you and the kids are snacking on chickpeas, who cares about a tiny bit of chocolate, just don’t do what I did and eat many, many extra bits of chocolate as well!

Grain-Free Choc Chip Chickpea Cookies

  • 1 1/4 cups canned chickpeas (I think I just used 1 400g tin)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp natural peanut butter* (regular peanut butter will not work, they turn out too oily)
  • 1/4 cup rice malt syrup
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (or cacao nibs or carob nibs)

Preheat oven to 180°C.  Combine all ingredients except chocolate chips in a food processor until smooth and then stir through the chocolate chips.  Wet your hands and form into small balls and flatten them onto a baking tray lined with baking paper.  Bake for 15 mins.

I found they had quite a cookie dough texture which I liked but next time I might try baking them for longer to see if they get crispier.  Enjoy!!

*I have found a natural peanut butter in the supermarket which I’m pretty happy with, it’s 100% peanuts.  ‘Sanitarium’ – in my supermarket it’s in the health food section.  As a bonus it’s no more expensive than Kraft which is loaded with additives.

100%  peanuts from health food section of supermarket (Australia)

100% peanuts from health food section of supermarket (Australia)

Here is the link to where the recipe is from 🙂  http://nutritiontwins.com/blog/610-grain-free-peanut-butter-chocolate-chip-cookies

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

